Saturday, April 1, 2017

Bad Check Laws in Michigan!

Are your clients writing bad checks?

Are you having a hard time balancing your books?

Do you need a collection attorney to go after your bad checks?

Did you know that in the state of Michigan, writing a bad check greater than $50 is a felony? Also, that any check that bounces less than $50 is considered a misdemeanor in the state?
debt collection attorneys Michigan

In addition to criminal fines and penalties, the check writer may be forced to cover civil damages. Since the Michigan law was last changed, the state now allows the victim to sue for damages. The victim must first request a payment from the offender by a set due date. If the offender neglects to pay reparations, the victim can sue for the entire amount of damages and the original bad check. Damages can include as much as double the amount of the original check.

For criminal penalties, a debtor may have to pay up to $250 in fines and serve six months in jail or pay a $500 fine and serve one year in jail depending on the severity of the offense.

If it turns out you need help collecting from your debtors, know that help isn’t far away! At Muller Law Firm we can help you strategize, and get results!

Call An Experienced Debt Collection Attorney in Michigan Now!

If you’re a business owner, you may decide that having a debt collection law firm work on your unpaid invoices is your best choice. That’s an area we specialize in, and we’re happy to discuss your options.

The law firm of Muller, Muller, Richmond, Harms & Myers, P.C., has successfully represented and handled collection matters for more than 55 years. Our attorneys know how to get results for our clients and they’re dedicated to getting a satisfactory outcome. Contact our debt collection attorneys in Michigan today at (248) 645-2440 for a free no obligation consultation.

No comments:

Post a Comment